

Trent Central Student Association Emergency Meeting of the 2022-2023 Board of Directors Agenda - Thursday, January 26th, 2022, at 7:00 pm (via Zoom)

1. Call to Order

Start time: 7:02 pm This meeting took place virtually.

2. Roll Call

Chair: Robert Monico (he/him)

Present

TCSA President Zoe Litow-Daye (she/they) VP Campaigns Aimee Anctil (she/they) VP Health & Wellness Holly Naraine (she/her) VP University & Colleges Shay Surujnarain (she/they) TISA Commissioner Astha Patel (she/her) Off-Campus Commissioner Craig Stoddart (he/him) Racialized Students Commissioner Juman Zanzoul (she/her) LEC Prime Minister Deondrae Thompson (he/him) LEC Commissioner Maddy Mckay (she/her) CC President Campbell Deck (he/him) CC Commissioner Hibah Rehman (she/her) TC President Krista Kartick (she/her) OC President Meaghan Kemp (they/them) OC Commissioner Annalise Smart (she/they)

Regrets

Indigenous Commissioner Fionna McKenna (she/they)

Absent

Off-Campus Commissioner Harshit Jain (he/him) TC Commissioner Aidan Cooke (he/him) GC Commissioner Manpreet Kaur (he/him)

Association Staff

Resource Manager Wendy Walker General Manager Tracy Milne

3. Land Acknowledgement

Chair Monico reads, "The Trent Central Student Association wishes to acknowledge that we are meeting today on the traditional territories of the Mississaugeeg Anishnaabeg people of Treaty 20 and the Williams Treaty, who have been taking care of this land since creation. As visitors to



these lands, we would like to acknowledge the displacement and sacrifices of all Indigenous peoples who lived, learned and gathered here, much like we are today. Peterborough, or Nogojiwanong, as it was originally called, has become home to many, and we would like to recognize the contributions made by other First Nations, Metis and Inuit peoples to this community. We give further thanks to the people of Curve Lake First Nation and Hiawartha First Nations for welcoming us onto this beautiful land. While settler-colonialism is still very evident within the structure of our society and institutions, the TCSA is committed to furthering the work of a de-colonial student union and campus, in partnership with Indigenous university staff, students, and community groups"

4. Chairs Remarks

Chair Monico reminds the boards on protocol for Closed Sessions and disciplinary actions that can be taken as outlined by the TCSA bylaws and Roberts Rules of Order.

From Chapter 16 of Robert's Rules of Order 12th Edition Chair Monico reads,

"In many organizations, guests can attend meetings in order to observe the business proceedings of the organization. However, members may not want the guests present to hear the discussion at times. In these situations, a member can make a motion to go into Closed Session. This motion is a privileged motion and is adopted by a majority vote. If the motion is adopted, all nonmembers are requested to leave the meeting until the members vote to end the executive session.

Business conducted in an executive session is confidential and known only to its members. Members are not supposed to divulge the proceedings of an Closed Session and can be punished under a disciplinary provision if they violate the secrecy. Anyone who is not a member but is allowed to stay during the closed session (for example an executive director or employee of the organization) is honor-bound not to tell what happened in the executive session. Minutes of an executive session are read and approved only in a Closed Session."

He also reminds the board that most disciplinary action against a member of the board must be held in Closed Session.

5. Conduct of Vice-President Health and Wellness

MOTION: To enter Closed session MOVERS: President Litow-Daye, President Deck Motion Carries

Enters Closed session at 7:11 pm

MOTION: Be it resolved that the Association's Human Resources Committee be stricken to review the conduct of VP Health and Wellness Holly Naraine.



MOVERS: President Litow-Daye, seconded by Commissioner Stoddart Motion Carries

Committee Membership

Champlain Cabinet President Campbell Deck Traill Cabinet President Krista Kartick Lady Eaton Cabinet Prime Minister Deondrae Thompson

MOTION: VP Naraine to complete her 20 hrs as remote work until the HR Committee has completed their recommendations MOVED: President Litow-Daye, seconded by Commissioner McKay Motion Carries

MOTION: To exit Closed Session MOVED: Commissioner Stoddart, President Kartick Motion Carries

Exit Closed Session at 8:23 pm

6. Adjournment

MOTION: Be it resolved that the 2023.01.26 Board of Directors Emergency Meeting be adjourned. MOVED: VP Naraine, seconded by President Kemp Motion Carries

End Time: 8:29 pm

Minutes prepared by:

Wendy Walker Association Resource Manager